Malaysian Education System – Types of Schools/Education System in Malaysia 2012 (Part 2)

by BerryBerryTeacher

in Berry Life Guide (Decisions)

Education system and school types in Malaysia. Have any readers ever wondered about the various types of schools in Malaysia? Surely you’ll know your Sekolah Kebangsaans and Sekolah Menengah Kebangsaans, but do you know of the rest? Berry Berry Easy would like to shed some light on the various schools in the portfolio of the Malaysian School System or Education System. This is Part 2 in the series.

Types of Education in Malaysia (Part 2)


  1. Sekolah Berprestasi Tinggi
  2. Sekolah Imtiaz Simbol Kecermelangan Akademik
  3. 10 Dipilih Rangkaian Sekolah Amanah Yayasan Amir
  4. Sekolah Amanah
  5. Sekolah Bestari
  6. KSSR Terap 1Malaysia
  7. Program Transisi Prasekolah Ke Tahun Satu
  8. Sekolah Pendidikan Khas
  9. Sekolah Wawasan
  10. Profesion Perguruan
  11. Pra Sekolah
  12. Sekolah Pendidikan Agama (SMKA)
  13. Kategori Institut Pendidikan Swasta
  14. Sekolah Pendidikan Vokasional
  15. Senarai Institut Pengajian Tinggi Awam (IPTA) Di Malaysia
  16. Maktab Rendah Sains MARA (MRSM)

In this part (Part 2), Berry Berry Easy will focus on Type 6-10 on the list.

6) KSSR Terap 1Malaysia

A new primary school curriculum “Kurikulum Standard Sekolah Rendah (KSSR)” that will be introduced in 2011to combine various subjects into one and to intriduce a new subject with the themes of patriotism and nationalism. KSSR will be introduced to Standard 1 schoolchildren. It will complement the present “Kurikulum Bersepadu Sekolah Rendah (KBSR)” curriculum instead of replacing it.

KSSR divides a subject into three modules:
  • Modul Asas Teras
  • Modul Asas Tema
  • Modul Asas Elektif.
Lower primary schoolchildren (Standard 1-3) will focus on mastering the 4M (membaca, menulis, mengira dan menaakul) while having basic knowledge on Information and Communication Technology (ICT), and also on socio-emotional development, spiritual, physical, behavious and values. Upper primary schoolchildren (Standard 4-6) will focus on strengthening and application of the 4M,  Information and Communication Technology (ICT), and also on socio-emotional development, spiritual, physical, behavious and values. Additionally, the ministry also introduced the “Kurikulum Standard Prasekolah Kebangsaan (KSPK)” for preschool children aged 5-6 for the whole nation.

7) Program Transisi Prasekolah Ke Tahun Satu

Program Transisi Prasekolah ke Tahun Satu (Preschool transition to Standard 1) is a program to facilitate the changes from non-formal education to formal education in Standard 1. The program lasts 3 months. It aims to allow children to familiarise themselves with the surroundings, teachers and new friends in a short time.

8) Sekolah Pendidikan Khas

Special Education Schools for students with problems with sights and listening. Among programmes offered are for:

a) Preschool
Entry conditions:
6+ to 14+ years old
Certified by medical practitioner
Can take care of oneself without requiring assistance

b) Primary School Education

Entry conditions:
6+ to 14+ years old
Certified by medical practitioner
Can take care of oneself without requiring assistance

c) Secondary School Education

Entry conditions:
13+ to 19+ years old
Certified by medical practitioner
There are two streams, which are the academic and vocational stream.

Special schools include:

i) Sekolah Khas
  • Sekolah Menengah Pendidikan Khas Persekutuan Pulau Pinang
  • Sekolah Menengah Pendidikan Khas Vokasional Shah Alam
ii) Program Pendidikan Khas Integrasi Masalah Pendengaran
  • Sekolah Menengah Vokasional (EAT) Azizah, Johor Baru
  • Sekolah Menengah Teknik Langkawi, Kedah
  • Sekolah Menengah Teknik Batu Pahat, Johor
  • Sekolah Menengah Vokasional Bagan Serai, Perak
  • Sekolah Menengah Teknik Tanah Merah, Kelantan
  • Sekolah Menengah Vokasional Keningau, Sabah

9) Sekolah Wawasan

Sekolah Wawasan (Vision Schools) are primary schools which have the concept of placing schools from different streams in the same area irrespective of race or religion. Schools are linked to each other using the “link-way“. It aims to promote unity among students from various races and background. There are 5 Kompleks Sekolah Wawasan (Vision School Complexes) which were successfully in operation. They are:
  • Kompleks Sekolah Wawasan Pekan Baru, Parit Buntar, Perak
  • Kompleks Sekolah Wawasan Taman Aman, Alor Setar, Kedah
  • Kompleks Sekolah Wawasan Tasik Permai, Pulau Pinang
  • Kompleks Sekolah Wawasan USJ 15, Subang Jaya, Selangor
  • Kompleks Sekolah Wawasan Pundut, Seri Manjung, Perak

For more information:

10) Profesion Perguruan

The “Bahagian Pendidikan Guru” (loosely translated as “The Teachers Education Division “) has the responsibility to set up guidelines for the training of teachers, selection of candidates for training and plan and run the staff development programmes. Among programmes that are being operated:

  • Kursus Diploma Perguruan Malaysia (KDPM)
  • Kursus Perguruan Lepasan Ijazah (KPLI)
  • Program Khas Pensiswazahan Guru (PKPG)

For management and leadership, the Institut Aminuddin Baki is responsible for identifying qualified candidates for the post of Headmaster/Principal and also to manage training programmes for education leadership and management.

For more information:

This marks the end of this part. Stay tuned to Berry Berry Easy for the final part.

Previous post:

Next post: